Abandoned

When I was in my early 20s, I went through an experience that made me think that God had abandoned me. The short-term result was a deeply personal search for truth that I could own. The long-term result was a certainty in my faith in God that’s now virtually unshakable. But the beginning of that journey started w the sense of being abandoned by God.
Have you felt a time(s) when it seemed like God abandoned you? If you’ve come out of that struggle, do you still believe today that God abandoned you??? If you don’t believe that He abandoned you, what changed???
I’d seriously like your feedback as I’m doing some exploring w God on this topic. Pls leave a comment 🙂

4 thoughts on “Abandoned

  1. GREAT topic!!! I did not have healthy fathers growing up. I always felt like God had abandoned me, because I desired so desperately to have a father growing up. I felt alone in the sense that God didn’t care enough about me to provide me w/ a father. I couldn’t accept him as a father, because all my other fathers abandoned us, and I felt God would do the same.. This took me YEARS to overcome.. It wasn’t until recently when we went through some rough times healthwise, and it was a great opportunity for me to grow closer to God. During these times I realized how much He truly loves me and how he never left me, it was just my perception and fears that caused me to keep Him at a distance. My faith in Him is now unshakeable, and He IS my father 🙂 My daddy.. who I go to when I need to cry on a shoulder and/or pour my heart out too, He is who I rejoice with adn laugh with.. I came to a point in my life, that no matter the outcome I was going to serve Him whole-heartedly, and knew that His plan(s) were/are perfect.. hope that makes sense :)!

  2. I struggled with getting close to God, especially when I have been in extreme trying times. I always went to others when I didn’t immediately hear from God. Then, when there wasn’t anyone to turn to, I was forced to take the time to listen for Him. And when I still don’t hear from Him in “my” time, I MUST rest, trust, that He IS with me and is for me. I have realized that He is always there, will never leave me because His words are true and He said that He will NEVER leave me nor forsake me. I know this in my heart. And when it SEEMS as though He has abandoned me, I just turn to His word. So,no; I do not still believe that He had abandoned me. I believe that He wanted my faith to grow in Him.

  3. Hi there! I know this is kinda off topic however I’d figured I’d ask.
    Would you be interested in trading links or maybe guest writing
    a blog post or vice-versa? My website goes over a lot of the
    same topics as yours and I feel we could greatly benefit from each other.
    If you’re interested feel free to send me an e-mail. I look forward to hearing from you! Awesome blog by the way!

Leave a Reply

