Irony

I was recently in Haiti for some work with www.savingmoses.org.  It was deeply moving experience for me – even from the time I landed at the airport.  You see, the airport at Port au Prince was damaged & so every passenger was led to a large warehouse to go through the immigration process.  I was pleasantly surprised to be almost totally surrounded by missions groups who were coming to help Haiti in a variety of ways.  Everyone was very friendly, chatty & I could tell they were eager to jump into doing some good, hands on missions work.  I love to be with people when they’re hearts are intent on helping others – such a rich experience! 

My return to the States was a bit of a contrast.  As we entered the US, we were going through the normal immigration formalities & had collected our luggage to finish going through customs.  There were some long lines & it seemed like one line was shorter than the rest, so we jumped in that line.  Unfortunately, we cut in front of a group of people unknowingly.  One of the girls in the group proceeded to say something really rude to us.  I turned around to see what was wrong & realized what we’d done.  When I asked her where she had been, she explained that they were returning from a missions trip to Haiti.  I don’t think she caught the irony of the situation – she had gone to Haiti to be part of something altruistic, benevolent, unselfish & nice.  Now that she was back to the US, she was in “normal-ville”.  I’m left wondering how often we miss opportunities for God to transform us.  Just something to consider

Leave a Reply

