hold on a second!!

When I was growing up, my dad would collect antique furniture & he filled our garage with his collections.  Over time, he added a shelf to the front of the garage so he could fill it it antiques, then he put in some suspended shelving from the ceiling of the garage so he could store more antiques.  Pretty soon, the paths that we used to get to the garbage cans were getting squeezed in w antiques.  And here’s the feeling I would always get when I went into the garage – suffocation.  Sometimes, I’d imagine for a brief second when I went into the garage that all of it might teeter from the little perches, strings & balanced corners to come collapsing down on me & that I’d get buried only to be possibly found by a curious parent after a few hours, if I was lucky.  After one such imaginative nightmare, I decided to only open the garage from the outside door & not try to ever go through the garage – for fear of an antique avalanche.

Now when I think about this, its kind of funny, but it wasn’t when I was living w my parents.  I taught myself avalanche avoidance techniques.  As an adult, I wish I would apply these lessons to managing my life better.  You see, sometimes I fill up my life with so much stuff (activities, responsibilities, achievements, pressures, deadlines, expectations, etc) that I feel like its just a matter of time until I become an avalanche victim.  This week is one of those times.

Here are some possible avalanche avoidance techniques:

Maybe God watches from the sidelines in amused disgust as I try to juggle everything without much success.

Maybe God waits for me to stop trying to be super woman & ask for His help.

Maybe God watches for the opportunity to teach me to say “yes” to His directives and not almost everything that passes my way.

Maybe God wants me to learn that He is the only eye in the hurricane

Maybe God wants to teach me more about living out the truth of Sabbath.

Maybe God wants me to wait on Him – to be still and know that He is God

Maybe all this flurry of activity lessens the keenness of my ear to hear His still small voice.

Maybe, just maybe, you & I can learn together & with His help, not continue to make the same kinds of mistakes.

I’m just saying, maybe we don’t have to be avalanche victims.

One thought on “hold on a second!!

  1. I just love your show…You and your mom have been such a blessing!

    I think often about your daughter Isabell. I saw years ago..maybe she was 5 years old. You had the children on the show. She warmed my heart! I would love to see how she has grown…I am not on the mailing list so maybe there is a photo of her in your magazine. What a little doll with a heart for God!

    My husband and are artists. I am a painter and he is a musician. http://www.johndoan.com
    You can see me on my blog.

    Merry Christmas to you and your sweet family!!
    Love in Christ,
    Deirdra
    Blessings,

Leave a Reply

