doing what we don’t like to do

My kids have a list of things they don’t like to do:  wash the dishes, pick up their room, fold the laundry, homework before playing, . . . .   So when we grow up, what happens to this list?  Hopefully, we get good at the tasks we didn’t like doing as kids so they’re not such an issue.  Or maybe we just suck it up & do these things anyways since we don’t like the negative results if we neglect to do the things we don’t like doing. 
I’ve been thinking about doing the things I don’t like to do – maybe as an attempt to avoid doing them ,)

But here are some things that are rolling around in my thoughts:

  • if I only do what I like to do, what talents & areas in my life would remain dormat from such neglect?
  • character development – I still think these words should be in the “four letter word” category, along with the other cuss words I avoid
  • love: a good “four letter word” that also includes doing things I don’t want to do (I love God, love my family, love my friends, . . . . )
  • Jesus endured the cross & decided to do what He didn’t want to do because of the joy on the other side of the cross.  Could there be more joy on the other side of the work than my dislike & procrastination?

These are just some ideas I’m considering when I think about doing things that I don’t like to do – like I’m now wrapping up this blog so I can go to the Dentist 😦 

What are your thoughts?  I’d be keen to hear your ideas, insights & observations 🙂

Leave a Reply

