receiving with gratitude

All of us like to receive gifts that we want.  For example, recently, my husband bought me a kindle & for me its the perfect gift because I really like to read & when I travel, my books can get excessively heavy.  He bought me the kindle just out of the blue & I’m SUPER happy because its fantastic!  Sometimes, however, we get some gifts that aren’t so whippy, or even gifts that we don’t want.

I find that this is true with God as well.  We are particularly happy with God when He gives us what we want, but when He gives us something that we don’t necessary want, we can be ungrateful.  We often tend to overlook the gifts that He gives us that we don’t want, but He knows that we need.  God gives us what we need, when we need it & I’m becoming increasingly convinced of this truth.  He gives us time, wisdom, energy, resources, favor, etc.  We may ask for  money and He may possibly give us wisdom on how to lower our expenses.  We may ask for a certain achievement or promotion and He may give us an inner contentment that we are beloved in His sight.  We may ask for friendship and He may possibly give us the opportunity to be a friend to a needy person & experience His love to us as He loves through us.  We may ask for more time and He may give us a way to more efficiently use the time that we have.  We may ask for many things, but let’s be certain to give God ample space to answer our requests in His perfect wisdom 🙂

One thought on “receiving with gratitude

Leave a Reply

