be gentle

Here’s a quickie thought about our relationships – be gentle.  I’m reminded to be gentle on many occasions – most frequently when someone says something to me that is sharp or insensitive.  When this happens, I find that it’s most helpful to give others the benefit of the doubt & not automatically assume that they’re trying to hurt me or have malicious intents.  I honestly think that if others understood some of our sensitivities, they probably wouldn’t say some of the things that we find to be hurtful.  So with this in mind, I want to be a gentle person & tread lightly.  I figure that if I’ll be gentle, others won’t find the need to forgive me as frequently and perhaps this is a practical way to express Jesus’ love.

I’m also reminded that Jesus wants me to be gentle with myself – to intentionally lose the lists of failures, shame & shortcomings, since these items have already received His forgiveness.  I can also be gentle with myself by being less impatient with my maturation.

Gentle words, gentle actions, gentle thoughts, . . . . . be gentle 🙂

One thought on “be gentle

Leave a Reply

