Killing Fields in Cambodia

Presently I’m riding in a tuk tuk (taxi in Cambodia) & we are driving out to the killing fields. Thirty five years ago in Cambodia, this country was ruled by a very violent regime called te Khmer Rouge. Some historians estimate that the KR killed up to 20% of the people in Cambodia in approximately 4 years. So we are now driving to an area that was one of the places where thousands upon thousands were killed – this area has been preserved in commemoration of the nameless thousands & millions who were killed under this despotic regime.
I’ve just finished going thru this memorial & all I can say is unbelievable. Let me gather my thoughts for a few minutes & I’ll come back to you.

While walking thru this memorial, I looked at the ground on the path where I was walking only to discover bone fragments, clothing remains & teeth. When it rains here, these things get pushed up to the surface of the soil. This is very unsettling & disturbing. They’ve found almost 9,000 corpses so far. I’m at a loss for words.
Maybe some of this experience will give me even more resolve with saving Moses to help make a better future than the recent past.
Still processing20110709-025845.jpg20110709-024734.jpg

One thought on “Killing Fields in Cambodia

  1. One of my friends in college escaped with her mother when she was 4. She remembered her mother running, carrying her wrapped up in a shirt, and bullets flying over head. I cannot imagine. Thank you so much for all you are doing. Blessings.

Leave a Reply

