the relevance struggle

Whenever I get to teach, I always want to make the content relevant to my audience. In my attempts to be relevant, I’ve used lots of different examples: from mistakes I’ve made when I cook to various snowboarding adventures.  I also see a wide variety of ways that God is relevant in my daily living.  He helps me to have wisdom with my interactions with my kids, guides my emotions & thoughts to be grounded in truth, reminds me about things I need to do, helps me with difficult conversations, gives me patience in traffic and a whole lot more.  I love discovering everyday the many different ways that God is relevant to me.

But yesterday, some questions popped into my mind:

  • Am I relevant to God?
  • In all of my attempts to see God fitting into & working in my life, how much do I work to be relevant in God’s kingdom?
  • Do my values reflect His priorities?
  • Am I kingdom relevant?
Jesus talked about the Kingdom of God alot in the Sermon on the Mount (Matt 5-7), if you’re keen to look at some of His descriptions & applications.  For a quick summary, it seems to me that I am most relevant in God’s kingdom when I love Him, others & myself 🙂

One thought on “the relevance struggle

  1. I love that you wrote not only Him and others, but you wrote yourself. I have found it hard to love my neighbor when I don’t love myself. Keep lovin’ yourself b/c He made you good!

Leave a Reply

