silly fighting

Last week my husband & I did kind of a joint sermon at our church on Marital Martial Arts (MMA) – How to Have a Good Fight with your spouse.  It was a fun sermon to do & as we prepared for it, we had some good laughs at the conflicts we’ve had over 18 years of marriage.  In relation to conflicts, I was listening to my kids the other day & they were fighting about something super stupid.  I think they were arguing about who could sit in the front seat of the car.  They’ve also fought about water balloons, legos, pancakes, etc.  Now don’t get me wrong, our family isn’t always in a perpetual fight.  But as I was listening to the various topics of conflict, it struck me about how stupid are some of the things my kids fight about.  Then it hit me – maybe God thinks that many of the things we fight about as adults are equally as stupid.

  • We fight about control & power, when the reality is that God is all powerful & in complete control.
  • We fight about money & finances, when He is our ultimate Provision.
  • We fight about relationships & love, when He is the ultimate source for our need for love.
  • We fight to feel important & significant, when the only real path to self worth is through Jesus.

Let’s put our energy into growing in our relationship with Jesus rather than fighting about things that often don’t have what we really want & need 🙂

Leave a Reply

