dealing with frustration

 I think our lives go through different seasons & timings.  Some of these seasons are easier than others.  But presently, I seem to find myself in a bit of a frustrating season.  It seems like wherever I look, there’s something messed up, missing or not going smoothly.  I’ve got some kid challenges – dentist adventures, back to school prep, behavior coaching, etc.  I’ve got some work challenges – some changes with how we do our work, some people changes, moving adjustments, etc.  Reece is presently leading a missions trip in Haiti, which is TOTALLY EXCELLENT for him, but adds some pressure on me.  I could continue with my list, but I think you get the gist & you probably don’t want any help to think about your own frustrations.

So here are some helpful thoughts:

  • some frustrations are temporary – when there’s a foreseeable end, it helps to remember that there will be a conclusion
  • deal with one thing at a time – when we pile frustration upon frustration they can get overwhelming;  looking at them one at a time makes them more manageable
  • lessons:  it’s important to ask yourself what ways God might be challenging you to grow in (stop procrastinating, self-discipline, time management, etc)
  • exercise:  there’s alot of merit to getting into some exercise routines to help release stress through physical exercise 🙂
  • escaping isn’t always the answer – sometimes there’s no better solution than to look a frustration in the eyes & deal with it head on;
  • prayer – this is probably my best tool to deal with frustration:  lifting up to God what’s happening or what I’m frustrated about & then listening & watching for His answers & help
May God help us to not be overwhelmed with our frustrations but to keep our confidence in His abilities, love & wisdom 🙂

One thought on “dealing with frustration

  1. Wow! Frustration!! Yes, we are well acquainted…not only because I have 3 boys under 9, but because I was required to ‘wait on the Lord’ for close to 6 yrs. Yes! I wrote my first book (over half of it) close to 6 yrs. ago, but I was not released to publish it until just recently (actually, only a portion of it…37 of the over 220 pgs). Oh, the interactions with Frustration & the relationship we developed…will surely fill much of a second book! But now, with all of the feedback and deeply touched hearts…it was worth it…trusting in Daddy, like a little child…realizing frustration is naturally part of the process, but desperation is not…Bless you, too, beloved. jd

Leave a Reply

