what’s the opposite of love???

 I’ve been thinking about love & its various expressions as they relate to different relationships (kids, parents, mates, friends, etc).  In my thinking, I’ve also been considering not only what love is, but also what love is not & here are some take aways I’ve been considering.  Love is not:

  • selfish – hence my tweet from a few days ago about love making decisions in the best interests of the recipient & not merely the giver of love
  • inconsistent – love is stable & as such, doesn’t merely function in the realm of feelings
  • hateful, malicious, evil, cruel or sadistic
  • apathetic – this word comes from the greek meaning to lack feeling or passion (a-pathy).  Perhaps indifference is more deadly than guns, bombs  & knives
  • egocentric or prideful – maybe these would be synonyms with selfish

These are some interesting observations, but what is more important than observation is application.  I know that I want to love well & authentically, but I get frustrated with myself because I fail.  It is exactly these frustrations, among other things, that cause me to turn to God because God is love.  I turn to God to live in a deeper relationship with Him so that He can love others more authentically through me.

One thought on “what’s the opposite of love???

Leave a Reply

