recipes and grilling

 This summer I’ve been grilling lots more than a normal Summer, probably because we didn’t really turn on the air con for the Summer.  Consequently, I’m more interested in keeping the heat outside rather than raising the heat inside 🙂

Nonetheless, I thought I’d pass along some thoughts & a few little recipes from the grill:

  • chix breasts – marinade in italian salad dressing overnight if possible & grill (very tastey).  This idea also works well w skewers
  • grilled peaches, but not so whippy on the grilled apples;  the peaches are nice w balsamic vinegar, but the apples I’ve got to work on & figure out how to improve
  • veggies – any & all;  I tried grilled beets last night & they weren’t too bad;  all with olive oil & salt
  • garlic – I tried grilled garlic last night (with olive oil & a touch of salt);  they were ok as long as I made sure that they were really well toasted
  • fish – my weak spot is that I can overcook the fish & make it dry
  • flank steak – again marinated in salad dressing & grilled to medium rare
  • pork chops marinated in soy (tastey)
Things I’ve thought about grilling, but decided to forego:  celery, lettuce, carrots, avocados, cucumbers & eggplant.
One of my kids favorite things to do with my husband when the coals are pretty spent is to whip out the skewers, grill some marshmellows & make smores.
Can you please help me with some more ideas?  As you can see, I’ll try just about anything – very few things are too zany for us ,)

Leave a Reply

