stubborn or persistent???

  I always like to hear encouraging stories about how a person has been persistent & the great rewards that they experience from their endurance – some truly great people have become great, in part due to their persistence.

There is, however, an ugly side to persistence & its called stubborness.  I’ve heard many stories as well about people being stubborn & the bad things that have happened because of their unwillingness to change.  It’s interesting that the words “persistent” & “stubborn” can have similar meanings but evoke different responses in us.  So I’ve been thinking about what the difference is for me with these words & here’s my perspective:

When I am stubborn, I assert my will & desires at almost all costs.  But when I’m committed to asserting God’s will in my life (conversations, attitudes, actions, etc) over my desires, then perhaps I could consider that I’m being persistent.  For me, one word is all about me & the other word is all about Jesus.  So I’m praying that the Holy Spirit will dismantle any & all “stubborn” scaffolding in my life & replace those structures with His persistence & endurance to work out God’s will through my daily living.  Persistence gets God’s results & stubborness get’s my results :/

One thought on “stubborn or persistent???

Leave a Reply

