first reactions

I’ve been noticing some things w my kids that are somewhat eye opening.  When I ask them to do something, like the pick up the things they were playing with or clean their rooms, etc, they can sometimes tend to have 1 of 2 reactions:  complain or argue.  Both of these reactions are becoming very annoying & probably reflect some bad parenting shortcomings on my part.  With that being said, the whole complain or argue strategy has started me thinking about how I react to God’s directives in my life.

 There are times that I know that God is asking me to do something & I have some “creative answers” that include:  I don’t have time, I don’t want to do that, why do I have to do this? that’s a really big sacrifice, I’m not smart enough to do that, I’m too busy doing the other things You told me to do, . . . . .

Some of the ways that my kids respond to me have really started me thinking about how I respond to my heavenly Father.  I always want my kids to respond with respect, honor, hard work, no complaining or arguing, etc.  I think my heavenly Father would like me to treat His requests in the same way – what great opportunities to grow!  🙂

One thought on “first reactions

  1. Thank you for this post, it confirmed what I need to focus working on. May God continue to bless you with His wisdom.-watw

Leave a Reply

