be strong!

When I think about the word “strong“, I automatically think about muscles, weight lifting, eating protein, endurance, some pain & my gym.  It’s interesting that I don’t immediately associate strength with teamwork, honesty, growing, change or time.  But when I think about it, these words are also essential ingredients for the word “strong”.

On a somewhat deeper level, I think it’s critical to consider where strength comes from.  Where does endurance, discipline, cooperation, patience & the like come from?  For me, the short & ultimate answer is God.

  • Without God in my life, my endurance is like exercising with Halloween candy for fuel.
  • Without God in my life, the strength of my will power is like trying to swim a lap in a 50m pool without taking a breath – the effort burns my lungs & obscures my thinking
  • Without God in my life, cooperation & teamwork becomes disguised dysfunction (abusive, neglectful, manipulative & selfish acedia)
When I look to God for His strength in my life, the contrast of His strength versus my strength, helps me appreciate how truly weak I am without Him.  Be strong!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

