celebrating differences

 My husband & I are discussing the different kinds of gifts that our kids want for Christmas:  the boys want air hogs (a hovering helicopter that can shoot missiles, or something like that) & American Girl doll stuff.  He’s commenting that the American Girl doll stuff is lame & I can just envision my boys remote controlling a helicopter to shoot missiles at me while I cook – not so much :/

Here are some great things about these differences:

  • they add variety – if the world were all dolls or hovering helicopters, we’d complain about the monotony
  • growing opportunities – it seems to me that we often grow the most when things are very different from our expectations & norms
  • new perspectives & deeper understanding – when I don’t dismiss differences, I open the door to understand someone else more deeply
  • genuine love – not because someone is like us, but rather because we want to see them enjoy what is not harmful & what they like
  • respect – appreciating diversity allows us to show respect & helps foster relationships

Vive’ la difference! 🙂

Leave a Reply

