What’s the Skinny on Obedience??

I had an interesting conversation w a friend the other day about what it means to love Jesus – we express our love for Jesus by doing what He tells us to do (obedience). My friend was really intense about the idea of DOING what Jesus says, heavy emphasis on activity.
I walked away from our conversation w a bit of unease & I’ve been thinking about this over the last week or so & I’ve come to the conclusion that obeying Jesus has 2 parts: activity & attitude. If I do the right things but have the wrong attitude & heart, my actions will seem disingenuous & even dishonoring. If my attitude is squeaky clean but my actions are inconsistent, I appear to be a hypocrite. Obedience includes actions & attitudes and my sense is that we desperately need the Holy Spirit working in our daily living to Help us with our actions & attitudes 😀

Leave a Reply

