when there’s not enough

I was talking w a friend this morning about when Jesus gave the 2 fish & 5 loaves to his disciples for feeding a massive crowd.  I’m putting myself in the disciples’ “shoes” & I’m thinking that if Jesus gave me a small piece of fish & bread, turned me around & said feed those 5,000+ people, my reaction would be something like, “Seriously?!?!?!?  You want me to take these scraps & feed ALL OF THOSE PEOPLE???  Let’s get real!  This wouldn’t even feed me!”  Nevertheless, Jesus’ disciples did what He said & as they obeyed, they experienced His miraculous power to multiply.  Here are a few of my thoughts on this narrative:

  • provision is always based on the Provider
  • need is irrelevant in light of the Divine Provider
  • obedience is more important than provision, maybe even the essential catalyst for provision
  • impossible is not part of the vocabulary for God 🙂

Perhaps the idea of “enough” is connected to our obedience more than we realize 🙂

The video link is a tribute to my husband who enjoys Johnny Cash, black & white videos & country music 🙂  5 loaves and 2 fish

Leave a Reply

