good things come to those who wait – really???

I’ve had an interesting few days and it’s been a bit challenging to keep a good attitude while waiting.  On Friday I had a few challenges – I was working on a really big project for Saving Moses and came to a place where I had to wait until Mon for the decision of another person.  Also on Friday, I was walking home in the snow from dinner at our neighbor’s house, slipped, fell & super messed up my ankle (nothing cool like I was snowboarding in a terrain park & messed up a jump or missed a rail).

So it was an interesting weekend – waiting and hoping for a good answer & an improved ankle and I’m thinking that Mon will be a great turning point for these brief, but important challenges.  When Mon rolled around, my ankle wasn’t better so  I decided to get it checked out.  The Dr said that if it was broken, that I probably wouldn’t be able to go to Cambodia for Saving Moses next month – grrrrrrrr.  Nevertheless, the xray results in the afternoon would let us know something more definite, which meant more waiting.  By 8pm Mon, I hadn’t heard anything from the Dr nor anything on the Saving Moses project.  Still waiting.  Grrrrrrr.

Tues morning rolls around & still no answers & now I’m getting jittery.  But when I would turn my heart to the Holy Spirit on these 2 topics, I felt peace.  Since this story has now been too long, here’s the short conclusion:  no broken ankle and the Saving Moses project has an affirmative answer!  And in all of this, I felt God tell me that if I will trust Him, He will meet the points of my needs with His provisions.  Luke 21:29 – in patience, possess your soul 🙂

4 thoughts on “good things come to those who wait – really???

  1. “WAIT” IS SO BIG ! WITHOUT THE WAIT WE WOULDNT HAVE TIME TO GET TO KNOW THE LORD EVEN IN THOSE TIMES WHEN THE WAIT IS SO HARD SO LONG YET IT SEEMS THAT IT IS IN “THE WAIT” WE LEARN SO MUCH. I AM IN WAIT LOOKING UP FOR OUR LORD HOW WONDERFUL IS HIS LOVE IN THE WAIT.

  2. Sarah, I think your statement: But when I would turn my heart to the Holy Spirit on these 2 topics, I felt peace. was your answer. That peace was the Holy Spirit saying rest in this. There is no hurry. Just rest in my love for you in all circumstances.That frees God to do His perfect work in you and in the situation. One thing I learned from you is that God is ALWAYS working in the background. Also, I pray healing into all the cells that make up your ankle and lower leg. I speak right now to the swelling and pain and cast it into the sea never to return again. I release the peace of God into your ankle for complete restoration and renewal. Is that redundant? May you have the Holy Spirit peace at this time and always.

  3. Sarah,

    I really liked your post about waiting. I had an interesting chat with the Lord about why I should wait on him during prayer time. I was brutally honest with him.. So I said, “sometimes I feel like I try to talk to you, and you don’t answer me, and I don’t want to feel like I’m talk to a wall.” Probably not the best thing to say, but I knew he could hear what I was thinking anyway. He said, that because I am so used to not waiting, I don’t want to wait. I replied, “But isn’t waiting a waste of time, when we could be talking about something or doing something else?” And he told me that if I didn’t learn to wait on him when things were good. How would i wait for an answer when he says don’t move, and I have a truck coming at me at 60 mph. Not to say he’d put me in that situation, but a situation where we must trust God, even when everything else says “MOVE!” Then I understood. I looked up the word for hope in Greek, and the word means, “To wait, or expect”. Like esperar in Spanish, it means to hope, but also to expect. The Lord said frankly, “If you do not wait, you have no hope.” As Saul made a sacrifice because he could not wait for Samuel even though he had no right to make the sacrifice.

    -Nate from VA

    • Nate, your response is timely for me. I am waiting on the Lord for great and mighty things He has shown me He wants to do for me and through me and I wonder on several occasions if I am to be ‘doing’ something instead of waiting. We mustn’t let the waiting discourage us from believing all good things are coming from our loving Father. Being transparent like you are is how we need to ‘be’ as God can handle our weaknesses far better than we or anyone else can. If we can’t ‘be’ who we are before Him then we don’t know Him as our Pappa God. He loves us so very much and is on our side as we seek first His Kingdom and all His righteousness and desire to hear His voice and obey what He is telling us.

      Amen Nate!

Leave a Reply

