when is it ok to be fruity?

I had this totally delicious conversation w a friend today about abiding in Jesus.  It was a thoroughly delightful conversation because we talked deeply about what it means to abide in Jesus as He talks about this in John 15.  Here are some ideas related to abiding:

  • being present – I love getting to give Jesus my total attention for no other reason than He is nothing short of riveting
  • receiving – for me this is tricky because of my independent nature, but the more I receive from Jesus, the more I want to receive
  • access – when I abide in Jesus, He has unlimited access to all of me & even though it can be painful on occasion, I find that letting Jesus have total access to all of my life is nothing short of sublime

So how does this relate to being fruity?  I’ve found that the better I abide in Jesus, the better the fruit / consequences in my life.  I’m less impatient, more kind & gentle, I’m more generous and I’m a better human.  Fruit is a reflection of the root ,)

Leave a Reply

