Minimizing Distance

I had an interesting discussion w God during my prayer time today about what creates distance or gaps in my relationship w God. I started thinking about the whole Garden of Eden debacle & it seems like that’s a great place to look at the distance dilemma. The conversation Eve had with the snake suggests a few distance “insights”:
*believing lies & distortions about God’s Word creates distance
*talking about God rather than with God can be a distance indicator
*passivity can create distance w God (it looks like Adam was listening to the conversation between Eve & the serpent in Gen 3)
*desiring anything more than God can create distance (Eve looked at the fruit & it looked good to her)
Now my point in sharing these things is that I don’t want to have any gaps or distance in my relationship w God. So if you’re like me, maybe these could be helpful red flags. Do you have more insights or suggestions (not just the normal “sin” answer, please)? Thanks muchos!! 🙂

8 thoughts on “Minimizing Distance

  1. HERE IS ONE POSSIBLE THEORY :ADAM I’M SURE LOVED HIS WIFE EVE DEARLY AND AS NOW SOMETIMES HUSBANDS WILL GO ALONG WITH THEIR WIFE BECAUSE OF LOVE. GOD IS LOVE ADAM WAS MADE IN HIS IMAGE. ADAM CERTAINLY MUST HAVED LOVED EVERY BIRD, ANIMAL, CREATURE HE NAMED AS WITH THEM HE HAD TO KNOW THEM TO NAME THEM. BUT WITH EVE IT WAS A MUCH GREATER PERSONAL INTIMATE LOVE. SO I THINK ADAM’S LOVE WAS GREATER FOR EVE THAN FOR GOD, LEADING HIM INTO HIS FALL FROM GRACE.

  2. Just found your blog, today. Can’t believe all the wonderful things I’ve been missing! Happily subscribed from here-forward. Wonderful insight that I plan to incorporate in my discussions, today. Blessings.

    • Amen and amen Lorraine. Knowing the Truth who is Jesus is how we are set free to live in the abundance of God’s love in us and thru us! We are created to BE with God, not work for Him. I am so thankful for the Holy Spirit who guides and directs me into all truth as I spend time listening to His voice every day instead of the fear of man and what he thinks I am supposed to be ‘doing’. Let God be true and every man a liar. Romans 3:4

  3. Hi Sarah,
    I am looking at the word ‘rib’ from Adam in Genesis that I am made from and have heard you say you have taken Hebrew. Can you please expound on your knowledge of Hebrew what the word ‘rib’ means in Hebrew? I am desiring to understand not only the symbolism of God in Christ in the garden account, which by the way points to Jesus on so many points Hallelujah!, but God’s heart for woman.

    I am not satisfied with me being my husband’s help-mate even though I love that is what I am to him. But if you find that being his help-mate is enough I will accept that from the Lord.

    Jesus is our perfect Rose of Sharon on this Valentine’s Day! The Love of Christ has been poured out in our hearts so we can love our brothers and sisters in the Lord and love our enemies as well. Oh His love is so powerful!

  4. Hi again… forgot to say I think your descriptions of distance are right on Sarah! Wonderful insight that speaks to my heart. AWESOME Holy Spirit revelation to share with us! Thanks so much Jesus for Sarah.

    I think this is why Isa 1:18 says to come and reason together. When we know ALL our sins are under the blood and we are walking in His glorious constantly flowing grace into us, together our minds and hearts can reveal God’s never-ending love for us which supernaturally opens our eyes to see Him in so much more light…that is sometimes blinding! Oh the Glory of the Risen Lord IN US!

Leave a Reply

