some encouragement for adversity

Lately, there have been some rather large difficulties that I’m having to face and I find myself having regularly make choices about where my mind will settle.  If I’m not careful, my thoughts can go down some very dark alleys and they can become very discouraging.  What I’ve found to be really helpful is to give my mind something constructive to chew on.  So here are some verses that have been super helpful of late – may they be encouraging to you as well!

  • Rom 8:37, “But in all these things we overwhelmingly conquer through Him who loved us”
  • Rom 8:31, “What then shall we say to these things?  If God is for us, who is against us?”
  • 1 Cor 15:57, “but thanks be to God who gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ.”
  • 2 Cor 2:14, “But thanks be to God who always leads us in triumph is Christ and manifests through us the sweet aroma of the knowledge of Him in every place.”
  • 1 John 5:4, “For whatever is born of God overcomes the world; and this is the victory that has over the world – our faith.”

2 thoughts on “some encouragement for adversity

  1. Sarah, thanks for getting me grounded in trying to make sense of the difficulties facing me. Those verses put me in place and back on my feet. I know through faith we can work out all things, but sometimes I get overwhelmed with trying to solve it all quickly, and I forget God has my timetable.

    Blessings,
    Alice

  2. Soooooooo don’t be afraid to step on out. You’ve got the talent, the looks, the personality, the background, and the support to be the best that you can be…. tough call for the sacrafice of time of those you love, but it is your calling. Easy for me to say, but you relate so well to the younger generation and the admiration of those who cheered David on after slaying Goliath. You go girl! Smile

Leave a Reply

