do a little bit

At the beginning of Feb, I slipped on the snow as I was walking home from my neighbor’s house & I banged up my ankle really bad.  I don’t consider myself to be very wimpy but I knew that I had hurt myself pretty bad – like having to crawl instead of walking bad.  After xrays, the Dr said it was just a bad sprain & that it would take time to heal.  When she said “time”, my mind translated this to mean a few days or maybe 2 weeks, because that’s a LONG time!  Now that we’re almost 2 MONTHS later, I’m still having some challenges.

But here’s the good news & this is where I want to encourage you:  even though I didn’t go very far nor fast, I ran outside yesterday & my ankle did pretty well.  Afterwards, I was talking w a friend & we encouraged each other that a little bit is better than nothing.  This idea about “a little bit” has huge value in LOTS of areas of our lives:

  • a little bit of forgiveness is moving in the right direction
  • a little bit of patience can be more constructive than impatience
  • a little bit of exercise can help to set us up to do a little more
  • a little bit of genuine love has immeasurable power to transform

When we start with nothing, a little bit can help us to get moving in the right direction 🙂

One thought on “do a little bit

  1. Ohhhh that old “first step”, like a baby or otherwise, then the “journey”, and finally (deep breath) for “patience” message YIKES! I just love in my a.m. devotions in the Message Translation Romans 9 starting v.6 “Don’t suppose for a moment, though, that God’s Word has malfunctioned in some way or other…Careful! I’ve put a huge stone on the road to Mount Zion, a stone you can’t get around. But the stone is me! If you’re looking for me you’ll find me on the way, not in the way. Selah 🙂

Leave a Reply

