how to be significant

We all have a compelling desire & drive to be important & significant.  To this end, we do various things to achieve this goal.  We try to feel important through our achievements, or we try to gain significance through our relationships & associations.  Sometimes, we try to feel important by how we dress or by our material goods.  Whatever path we chose, it is my experience so far that any effort to feel important that doesn’t include Jesus is nothing less than a passing vapor and illusionary.

Lately, I’ve gotten trapped in the achievement illusion.  I find myself trying to feel significant by my achievements and continually disappointed.  This morning, I had a really rich conversation with God & He thankfully revealed this error to me.

  • We are valuable because God loves us, not because of what we do or don’t do.
  • We are significant because Jesus gave His life to be with us, not because of our material goods or our outward appearance
  • We are important because we were the ultimate desire for which God was aiming when the world was created, not  because of the people we know or with whom we assocaite
  • You are highly esteemed & treasured by the Creator of the Universe, just because 🙂

6 thoughts on “how to be significant

  1. hmmmm got to surfing for a moment came back and my message went to somewhere cyberspace (note to self: call Al Gore and don’t go ADHD when replying hahaha) – anyway YOU are sooooo significant, as in a message from Joel – you are definitely meant for this time in “his-story”. It is hard for us to fathom the love of God, especially in the Resurrection season, but there you have it. Selah Smile

  2. This is how to be [in]significant:

    In your relationships with one another, have the same mindset as Christ Jesus:

    Who, being in very nature God,
    did not consider equality with God something to be used to his own advantage;
    rather, he made himself nothing
    by taking the very nature of a servant,
    being made in human likeness.
    And being found in appearance as a man,
    he humbled himself
    by becoming obedient to death—
    even death on a cross!

  3. trying to feel as if your existence is meaningful and being a contributer to the good…me too… i have to step back sometimes and wonder and analyze the whys….sometimes i overdo because of fear…sometimes to feel significant…sometimes over doing to be able to keep my mind busy because if i have too much quiet i have to deal with what i dont want to in my worry..all bringing me looking up to my God my Christ Who is ALWAYS ALWAYS there with His Hands of love open Arms of comfort and understanding. ThankYou my Abba Father God my Jesus my Christ King and Lord…yes I need His Holy Spirit to help me calm to step back to wait upon Him to rest in His Love……

  4. The Lord God showed us the way of significance through His Word, through the Cross, and through His Love. For a special blessing try this Good Friday Sabbath prayer with your family http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LnaZqHy2ZHE
    (My mechanics of links as you can tell is not proficient enough – so I guess you will have to go manual- sorry), Oh, and the Sabbath candles were always lit by the female/wife for the family. Try it You’ll like it! It’s not about law it’s about love. Smile

Leave a Reply

