faith doesn’t always require sight

 For whatever reason, I woke up feeling very perky at 4am today.  Obviously it was still dark when I came downstairs to get the morning coffee brewing.  And as I sat on the couch with the lights off, I looked up at the window & noticed the bright & beautiful half moon. I started thinking about the moon & how I could only see half, but knowing that  the moon merely reflects different amounts of the sun – a sliver, quarter, half, 3/4, whole.  Nevertheless, no matter how much of the moon we see, we absolutely know that it’s a whole object & not only the part that we see.  Furthermore, the longer I sat & observed, the moon was soon blocked by our house as the earth rotates toward the sunrise.

So from my early morning observations of the moon, here are a few take-aways:

  • just because we only see parts & slivers of God’s work doesn’t mean that God isn’t wholly working & doing things throughout our lives – even in the seasons when we can’t see any direct evidence
  • sometimes situations “block” our ability to see God & in these instances, we can trust that God loves us & is continuing to shine & work in our lives 🙂

Leave a Reply

