here’s some yucky honesty

I find that there are times when I keep myself conveniently occupied and busy in ministry work – serving, connecting with people, preparing messages, studying, etc.  From the outside point of view, these all seem to be good, constructive, kingdom building activities and they most certainly can be!  If I’m going to be brutally honest, however, sometimes these external activities can be a distraction for me to conveniently neglect the uncomfortable internal work that I can feel God pressing me on to be a stronger, deeper and more committed follower of Jesus.  With that being said, I don’t think we need to neglect the outside work of ministry to grow internally – but if we don’t follow the Holy Spirit, sometimes the outside work can be a convenient distraction from the inside work that can be uncomfortable that God wants to do in our hearts.  Perhaps God wants our external interactions and living to be a consequence of our rich interior fellowship with God (interior designing for exterior living)

 🙂

Leave a Reply

