Are you ready for Christmas? :D

Confession time: I don’t like to wrap presents & so for many preceding years, this has been a really bad point of procrastination – so bad that I’ve had melt downs on Christmas Eve looking at all the wrapping I needed to do while thinking about all the meal prep I needed to do for our Christmas meal. No one’s fault but mine. This year, I’m trying something different – I’m trying to wrap 4-5 present over each weekend, attempting to prepare for Christmas better than my recent disasters. So far, it seems to be working.
I’ve also been thinking about preparing for Jesus’ birth this season with Is 40:4 where he talks about bringing the valleys up to meet the road level. I’ve been thinking about this in relation to any depressed areas in my life – low spots in my thinking, actions & conversations. While I’m not advocating denial or burying my head in the sand, there are certainly areas in my life that are lower than what God says in the Bible (low thinking, substandard conversations & actions, etc). So I feel challenged to let the Bible confront & help me to shore up those low areas as I prepare for Jesus’ birth during this season 🙂

One thought on “Are you ready for Christmas? :D

  1. I can’t believe you suffer from the same afflictions that we do. I despise wrapping Christmas presents ONLY because I procrastinate as well and when I’m supposed to be baking and cooking the Christmas dinner extraordinaire, I also must wrap presents before bed, Christmas Eve, and I just don’t have the time or energy to do both. Alas, I have no choice. If I only wrapped as I shopped, I would not suffer this affliction. Thank you for reminding me that you are human as well (it’s easy to see you as SUPER HUMAN because you are so amazing) and the fact that we need to keep our sights on Jesus. If it were up to me, there would be WAY more giving than receiving in our family. It hurts my heart that society has influenced our family to such a point that our children base their Christmas satiation on only what they receive, as they are still in the ‘Santa’ phase of adolescence. But I know time will heal that with their maturity. Thank you, Sarah. Your email blogs keep me going with every passing day. Happy Happy, Joy Joy. Love you so much, sister in Christ. XOX. Jen Essman

Leave a Reply

