Advice for hostile situations

From time to time I have the opportunity to be involved in situations that can be volatile, hostile & combative. I can’t say that I enjoy these types of situations but I am learning a few things that you might find helpful:
*Proverbs says that a soft answer turns away wrath – answering with gentle words & replies can be super helpful to turn a hostile conversation into a constructive conversation
*volume, pace & pitch are important in our verbal replies because they can increase or diffuse the hostility
*seek to understand before being understood – this always helps me to grow & learn more
*pray: seems to me that we need God more than we frequently recognize 🙂

What have you found to be helpful? Thanks for your input!!

7 thoughts on “Advice for hostile situations

  1. #1 The pregnant pause and hopefully it isn’t 9 months but it may seem that long because the next person to respond as a rule of thumb generally loses.
    #2 Get up from your position – walk around pensively while asking the Lord for direction.
    #3 If it is too heated then walk away for awhile, but determine a time to come back together 5min / 5 hours/ / or 5 days depending on the intensity of the conflict. Amarkjolewis@aol.comnd of course smilhelp a lot.

  2. Forgive yourself and others if need be. He (God) knows we are just flesh. Know that Jesus also had many hostile situations (Hebrews 12:3) yet He seemed to always be able to deal with the situations calmly, with wisdom.. He also at times had to escape there anger and hostility(John8:59). Proverbs 22:3 “A prudent man foresees evil and hides himself “

  3. You are pretty spot on, Sarah, regarding hostile situations.
    But when will your sermon (tomorrow’s) be available for viewing, including on CTV and on DSTV’s TBN or/and DAYSTAR? I am enquiring from Ethiopia. I wish I could watch it live also.

  4. Good day! I know this is somewhat off topic but I was wondering which blog platform are you using for this
    site? I’m getting sick and tired of WordPress because I’ve had problems with hackers and I’m looking at alternatives for another platform. I would be awesome if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

Leave a Reply

