praying & distractions

Have you ever struggled to pray because of various distractions?  This morning happened to be one of those times for me & that can be really frustrating because if you’re like me, you really want to pray!  So perhaps I can give you a few ideas that could be helpful:

  • tell God that you’re having a hard time praying because of the various distractions.  I say something like this, “God, I really want to pray right now, but I’m having a hard time because I find myself to be distracted with all kinds of things, some things important & some things not so much.”
  • sometimes I will write down what those distractions are – maybe making a to-do list, or briefly writing out the various things about which I’m concerned
  • take a pause and listen / wait – often after I do the first 2 things above, it gets easier for me to pray, listen and to be more present with God than the various distractions
  • don’t get way frustrated with yourself – commit to have some prayer time in your life everyday so that on those few days that seem to filled with distractions, you can be certain that there will also be some totally amazing times with God that will be nothing short of glorious – all realtionships can have some ups & downs
  • sometimes it helps me to review a verse or passage from the Bible that has seemed to really capture my attention & thoughts – in these times, I give myself to exploring this verse or passage with God & I find these times to be particularly rich with God’s presence

One thought on “praying & distractions

Leave a Reply

