be brave

Yesterday, my husband & I celebrated Valentines Day by doing some skiining / snowboarding together & we had a blast!  During the day, I kept seeing this run that I wanted to try because it had lots of powder on it & looked like it could be really fun!  So on my last run, we tried it & it was more than what I thought:  there was part of it that was a tiny bit of a steep drop between a couple of trees.  Ok, here’s the deal – I’ve been snowboarding for more than 7 years now & while I have zero olympic aspirations, I’m also better than I think sometimes.  When I looked at the miniature drop between the trees, I got really nervous, but then I thought about it, did some mental coaching & came through uninjured 🙂

Here are a few helpful ideas from my snowboarding adventure yesterday about being brave:

  • don’t psych yourself out – sometimes we make things bigger than they are
  • think about your successes from the past – this helps to build present confidence
  • be with “can-do” people – my husband was cheering for me, “Sarah, you got this!!”
  • fundamentals – think about what you need to do rather than what you shouldn’t do (this helps ALOT when you get in really intense moments)
  • remember the Sara Bareilles song, “Brave”  🙂

2 thoughts on “be brave

Leave a Reply

