speak out!!

Spectrum_SpeakingOut-3

When I was in 2nd or 3rd grade, I spread a rumor about my teacher that she was drunk.  She was behaving strangely & given my limited experience in life, I tried to explain her unusual behavior, not considering that my explanation was slanderous & inappropriate.  The next day, I was summoned to the principal’s office where I was severly reprimanded & returned to class with great embarrassment.  My take away lesson was to speak less & think more – not a bad lesson in general.

however

Sometimes we are too quiet.  Sometimes we need to speak out & be an advocate for ourselves, for those who are less fortunate & to oppose disgraceful & belittling  situations, events & circumstances.  The Bible has many examples of situations where people spoke out on behalf of the downtrodden, disenfranchised & belittled.  This is a very significant reason that I’m so passionate about our work with nightcare – the shelter & safety we give to the babies of sex workers while they work.  I’m speaking out on behalf of these babies, who have no power or ability to articulate their needs, hurts and concerns.

One thought on “speak out!!

  1. Bravo! I’m still amazed at your response recently when you asked for advice – you have a silent majority that just needs incentive for involvement.

Leave a Reply

