weirdos

Yesterday, my daughter & I had an interesting conversation while driving for groceries.  She let me know that girls are more emotional than boys.  While she’s telling me this, my two sons are in the back seat hitting, poking, pinching and generally harassing each other.  In the conversation with my daughter, I explained that girls aren’t necessarily more emotional than boys, but their emotional expressions are often different than boys – not bad or good, just different.  And that’s the rub:  when someone is different than ourselves, let’s be careful not to throw them in the “weirdo” category and outrightly dismiss them.  God has taught me a lot through all kinds of people, most of whom are very different than myself.

If someone is “different” from you, here are a few helpful ideas:

  • respect – be respectful even if you disagree & remember that treating someone with respect & dignity is based on your decisions more than their behaviors 🙂
  • listen – I like what Stephen Covey said:  seek first to understand & then to be understood
  • enjoy – differences are perhaps the greatest evidence of how creative God is & perhaps part of how God continues to capture our curiosity 🙂

2 thoughts on “weirdos

  1. Aren’t we all- I believe the scripture lists us as a “peculiar people” – thank God!
    One of the basis for Christian maturity is our acceptance of the peculiar in which Jesus had a specialty – thank God! Smile

Leave a Reply

